Friday, December 23, 2016

DVD Review: 800 Words

Acorn TV’s new Aussie-Kiwi dramedy 800 Words makes its DVD debut on December 13, 2016 from Acorn, an RLJ Entertainment, Inc. (NASDAQ: RLJE) brand. The heart-warming Aussie-Kiwi dramedy follows newly-widowed George Turner’s (Erik ThomsonPacked to the Rafters, The Code) decision to start afresh and take his teenage kids from Sydney to a picturesque and quirky New Zealand coastal town. But the colorful and inquisitive locals ensure his dream of a fresh start does not go as planned. The series has received Logie Awards for Best Actor for Erik Thomson and Most Outstanding Newcomer for Melina Vidler as George’s daughter Shay. The series co-stars Rick Donald (A Place to Call Home, The Doctor Blake Mysteries) as Woody and Benson Jack Anthony as George’s son Arlo. This 2-disc DVD set features 8 episodes. ($49.99, 800 Words made its U.S. premiere in September 2016 on Acorn TV, the premier streaming service for world-class television from Britain and beyond.

Successful newspaper columnist George Turner (Thomson) has his world turned upside down when his wife suddenly dies. Looking for a fresh start, George packs up and moves his two teenaged children, Shay (Vidler) and Arlo (Jack Anthony), from the bustle of Sydney to the picturesque seaside town of Weld, New Zealand.

But the Turners’ new life doesn’t go as planned when they face a series of setbacks and meet the eccentric townsfolk, including handyman Woody (Donald) and the “women of Weld” – four single ladies who are intrigued by the handsome widower and his offspring.

Hailed for its “warmth and inclusiveness” (The Australian), this award-winning series is a heartfelt comedy/drama about a family searching for healing in the midst of tragedy.

Street Date: December 13, 2016                                SRP: $49.99
DVD 2-Disc Set: 8 episodes – Approx. 363 min. – SDH Subtitles – UPC 054961253999
Contains coarse language, nudity, and sexual situations.

My Thoughts

800 Words is a cute comedy about a widower who decides to move his family to a little coastal town. But his new beginning doesn't go quite as smoothly as he planned. The quirky locals can't keep to themselves and George and his kids find themselves the center of attention, This season has eight delightful episodes:

1- George feels he needs a fresh start after losing his wife. He quits his job and buys a house on the internet in a town he used to visit as a child.

2- Some locals are upset when George refers to their home as a dead-end town in his article. The kids have some confrontations at school and George realized he saw one of their teachers on a nude beach.

3- There is lots of gossip about how George's wife died, and surfer Woody forces him to take a look at his life.

4- Several of the town's single women have George in their sights.

5- A funeral is interrupted  by a possible earthquake and the everyone winds up at a shelter.

6 - George searches for the lost head of a statue while his daughter gets pulled into some shady dealings by her friend Ike.

7- George realizes being a single parent will be more challenging than he thought.

8- George now has five women looking to hook up with him, A fun end to the season that promises more to come.

This series will make you laugh at times and get emotional at times. The relationship between George and his kids has it's challenges, but it's also touching. Living in a small coastal town myself, I could definitely relate to the quirky locals. If you'd like to grab a copy of this DVD set, it is available online at Acorn Media and online at Amazon.


Blogger said...

You might be eligible for a complimentary $1,000 Amazon Gift Card.