Sunday, February 21, 2016

DVD Review: The Irish RM: The Complete Collection

Based on the turn-of-the-century stories by Somerville and Ross, The Irish R.M.: The Complete Collection arrives on DVD on February 23, 2016, from Acorn, an RLJ Entertainment, Inc. (NASDAQ: RLJE) brand. Peter Bowles (Rumpole of the BaileyTo the Manor Born) stars in this light-hearted drama series as Major Sinclair Yeates, a retired English army officer who becomes a Resident Magistrate in pre-independence West Ireland. Living in a ramshackle country house surrounded by the community’s eccentric inhabitants, Major Yeates struggles to apply judicial logic in a country where “the inevitable never happens, but the improbable frequently does.” Shot entirely on location in beautiful County Kildare in Ireland, this classic PBS Masterpiece Theatre drama affectionately captures life in rural Ireland at the turn of the 20th century. This DVD 6-disc set features all three seasons (18 episodes), plus a bonus making-of featurette ($59.99, The complete series is also available to stream anytime on Acorn.TV, the premier streaming service for world class television from Britain and beyond.

The Irish R.M. also features Beryl Reid (Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy), Bryan Murray (Perfect Scoundrels), Niall Toibin (Ballykissangel), Anna Manahan (All Dogs Go to Heaven), Jonathan Ryan (The Tudors), Fintan McKeown (Game of Thrones), and Sarah Badel (A Perfect Spy, Mrs. Dalloway), the British period drama premiered in the U.S. on Masterpiece Theatre in 1984.

Peter Bowles stars as Major Sinclair Yeates, a retired English army officer appointed resident magistrate in a small Irish town in the days before Irish independence. The mutual misunderstanding between the English and the Irish leads to hilarious complications as the Major tries to bestow order and make friends in his quirky community.

Street Date: February 23, 2016                                SRP: $59.99  
DVD 6-Disc Set: 18 episodes – Approx. 16 hours, plus bonus min. – SDH Subtitles
UPC 54961245499                                                     ISBN 9781621724544

My Thoughts 

This great series first appeared on Masterpiec Theater back in the 80s.  The series revolved around Major Sinclair Yeates. He's a retired English officer whose working as the magistrate for a small town in Ireland.  Filled with humor, this series shows how hard it can sometimes me for the Irish and English to get along. This complete series includes 18 episodes:

Great-Uncle McCarthy- Yeates finds himself in a possibly haunted rental unit. 
Trinket’s Colt- Flurry needs to get a gift horse from his grandmother.
A Misdeal- Crazy antics occur when a new neighbor tries to get a horse. Yeates walks down the aisle.
The Boat’s Share- A family feud leads to some hilarious antics. 
Occasional Licenses- Some games get out of hand on St Peter & St Paul’s Day.
Love! O Fire!-  A big fire and some sparks of romance for a new tenant. 
 A Horse! A Hoorse!- The honeymooners return but RM has some trouble during a hunt.
The Dispensary Doctor- Yeates has to deal with some fish poachers
Holy Island-  Villagers get drunk when barrels of rum fall into their water. 
Oweneen the Sprat - A mountain man is out for revenge. 
A Royal Command- A polo match goes terribly wrong. 
The Aussolas Martin Cat- Flurry might be getting evicted. 
The Muse in Skebawn- Yeates is propositioned while his wife is away.
Major Apollo Riggs- Yeate's family comes to visit while his wife is away. .
Friend of Her Youth- A visitor gets Flurry in over  his head. 
In the Curranhilty Country- Not everyone is happy about the RM's new wheels. 
 Lisheen Races-  Yeates has to handle some illegal horse betting in town.
The Devil You Know- Yeates gets a new job.

This is a hilarious series filled with the type of humor you can only get from Europe. I really enjoyed the series and I'm glad it was released on DVD in this complete collection. If you'd like to grab a copy of this amazing collection for yourself, you can find it online at Acord Media an on Amazon.